Not often, right? Sure, there was that time someone remarked on how they didn’t know you had the courage to say what you did. But now that you think of it, what impressed them was seeing you act more like an extravert.  Where do they think all your great ideas come from?  While they were out socializing, you were at home writing, reading, or maybe creating something while processing your day. Your mind is a playground of ideas. So, why not celebrate your personality type with some heartwarming quotes about introversion? And maybe use them as part of your next creative endeavor. 

89 Introvert Quotes to Celebrate Who You Are

  1. “I am rarely bored alone; I am often bored in groups and crowds.” ~ Laurie Helgoe
  2. “I have to be alone very often. I’d be quite happy if I spent from Saturday night until Monday morning alone in my apartment. That’s how I refuel.” ~ Audrey Hepburn
  3. “In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude. One must overcome the fear of being alone.” ~ Rollo May
  4. “What if you love knowledge for its own sake, not necessarily as a blueprint to action? What if you wish there were more, not fewer reflective types in the world.” ~Susan Cain
  5. “I am a minimalist. I like saying the most with the least.” ~Bob Newhart
  6. “The highest form of love is to be the protector of another person’s solitude.” ~ Rainer Maria Rilke
  7. “When you’re an introvert like me and you’ve been lonely for a while, and then you find someone who understands you, you become really attached to them. It’s a real release.” ~ Lana Del Rey
  8. “Introvert conversations are like jazz. Each player gets to solo for a nice stretch before the other player comes in and does his solo.” ~ Laurie Helgoe
  9. “Our culture made a virtue of living only as extroverts. We discouraged the inner journey, the quest for a center. So we lost our center and have to find it again.” ~Anais Nin
  10. “After an hour or two of being socially on, we introverts need to turn off and recharge … This isn’t antisocial. It isn’t a sign of depression.” ~ Jonathan Rauch
  11. “Your solitude will be a support and a home for you, even in the midst of very unfamiliar circumstances, and from it you will find all your paths.” ~ Rainer Maria Rilke
  12. “The secret to life is to put yourself in the right lighting. For some it’s a Broadway spotlight, for others, a lamplit desk.” ~ Susan Cain
  13. “As a child I suppose I was not quite normal. My happiest times were when I was left alone in the house on a Saturday.” ~ Charles Bukowski
  14. “I don’t have time for superficial friends, I suppose if you’re really lonely you can call a superficial friend, but otherwise, what’s the point?” ~ Courtney Cox
  15. “For introverts, to be alone with our thoughts is as restorative as sleeping, as nourishing as eating.” ~ Jonathan Rauch
  16. “Beware of those who seek constant crowds; they are nothing alone.” ~Charles Bukowski
  17. “Solitude matters, and for some people, it’s the air they breathe” ― Susan Cain
  18. “Whatever kind of introvert you are, some people will find you ‘too much’ in some ways and ‘not enough’ in others.” ~ Laurie Helgoe
  19. “Don’t think of introversion as something that needs to be cured…Spend your free time the way you like, not the way you think you’re supposed to.”~ Susan Cain 15 Of The Best Ways To Thrive With A Reserved Personality 10 Top Secrets Of The Type C Personality You Need to Know 33 Best Hobbies For Introverts And People Who Like To Be Alone
  20. “In an extroverted society, the difference between an introvert and an extrovert is that an introvert is often unconsciously deemed guilty until proven innocent.” ~ Criss Jami
  21. “Solitude has its own very strange beauty to it.” ~ Liv Tyler
  22. “Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.” ~ Plato
  23. “Introverts dislike small talk, but we are fluent in the language of ideas and dreams.” ~ Michaela Chung
  24. “Better to keep quiet and let people think you’re an idiot than speak up and confirm it.” ~ Rodney Dangerfield
  25. “I think I’m a weird combination of deeply introverted and very daring. I can feel both those things working.” ~ Helen Hunt
  26. “An introversion party is three people sprawled on couches and pillows, reading and occasionally talking.” – Laurie Helgoe
  27. “My idea of a fun night was diving into a massive pile of To Be Read books stacked near my dresser.” – Jeff Sampson
  28. “I need space from a world that is filled with millions of mouths that talk too much but never have anything to say.” – Kaitlin Foster
  29. “I don’t hate people. I just feel better when they are not around. “ – Charles Bukowski 
  30. “While others chat, introverts listen, observe, analyze, and collect impressions.” – Laurie Helgoe
  31. “It’s not because I don’t want to look at you. It’s that I don’t want to be seen.” – Jonathan Lethem
  32. “I believe in annoyed at first sight.” – Steve Maraboli
  33. “Introverts treasure the close relationships they have stretched so much to make.” – Adam S. McHugh
  34. “Nobody enjoys the company of others as intensely as someone who usually avoids the company of others.” – Mokokoma Mokhonoana
  35. “I will only have you if you are sweeter than my solitude.” – Warsan Shire
  36. “If you’re a true introvert, other people are basically energy vampires.” – Amy Schumer
  37. “I restore myself when I’m alone.” — Marilyn Monroe
  38. “A little hibernation is good for the mind.” — Michaela Chung
  39. “Shyness is inherently painful; introversion is not.” – Susan Cain
  40. “I owe my solitude to other people.” — Alan Watts
  41. “Alone you’ll thrive. Alone you’ll feel alive.” — Maxime Lagace
  42. “True happiness is impossible without solitude.” — Anton Chekhov
  43. “My imagination functions much better when I don’t have to speak to people.” — Patricia Highsmith

Misunderstood Introverts Quotes

  1. “Don’t underestimate me because I’m quiet. I know more than I say, think more than I speak and observe more than you know.” – Michaela Chung.
  2. “There is a tremendous difference between alone and lonely. You could be lonely in a group of people. I like being alone. I like eating by myself. I go home at night and just watch a movie or hang out with my dog” – Drew Barrymore
  3. “If you meet a loner, no matter what they tell you, it’s not because they enjoy solitude. It’s because they have tried to blend into the world before, and people continue to disappoint them.” – Jodi Picoult
  4. “Quiet people always know more than they seem. Although very normal, their inner world is by default fronted mysterious and therefore assumed weird. Never underestimate the social awareness and sense of reality in a quiet person; they are some of the most observant, absorbent persons of all.” – Criss Jami 
  5. “When an introvert is quiet, don’t assume he is depressed, snobbish or socially deficient.” – Laurie Helgoe
  6. “Let’s clear one thing up: Introverts do not hate small talk because we dislike people. We hate small talk because we hate the barrier it creates between people.” – Laurie Helgoe

Famous Introvert Quotes

  1. “I think a lot, but I don’t say much.” – Anne Frank
  2. “Silence is only frightening to people who are compulsively verbalizing.” – William S. Burroughs
  3. “If you like to do things in a slow and steady way, don’t let others make you feel as if you have to race. If you enjoy depth, don’t force yourself to seek breadth.” – Susan Cain
  4. “I’m very picky with whom I give my energy to. I prefer to reserve my time, intensity and spirit exclusively to those who reflect sincerity. ” – Dau Voire.
  5. “Introverts live in two worlds: We visit the world of people, but solitude and the inner world will always be our home.” – Jenn Granneman
  6. “I am worn out with civility. I have been talking incessantly all night with nothing to say.” – Jane Austen
  7. “When I was young, all I wanted and expected from life was to sit quietly in some corner doing my work without the public paying attention to me.” – Albert Einstein
  8. “The monotony and solitude of a quiet life stimulate the creative mind.” – Albert Einstein
  9. “The day I began to live is the day I discovered being an introvert was awesome.” – Maxime Lagacé
  10. “It’s far better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone.” – Marilyn Monroe.
  11. “Writing is something you do alone. Its a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact while doing it.” – John Green
  12. “Wise men, when in doubt whether to speak or to keep quiet, give themselves the benefit of the doubt, and remain silent.” – Napoleon Hill
  13. “Knowing yourself is the beginning of all wisdom.” – Aristotle
  14. “I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but like everybody else, it must be in my own way.” – Jane Austen
  15. “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.” – Abraham Lincoln 
  16. “To thine own self be true.” – William Shakespeare
  17. “I kinda live where I find myself.”  – Bob Dylan
  18. “For the introvert, conversation can be a very limited forum for self expression.” – Laurie Helgoe
  19. “You may think I’m small, but I have a universe inside my mind.” – Yoko Ono 

Funny Introverts Quotes

  1. “Introverts … may have strong social skills and enjoy parties and business meetings, but after a while wish they were home in their pajamas.” – Susan Cain
  2. “I only go out to get me a fresh appetite for being alone.” – Lord Byron
  3. “I talked to a calzone for fifteen minutes last night before I realized it was just an introverted pizza. I wish all my acquaintances were so tasty.” – Jarod Kintz
  4. “I prefer tongue-tied knowledge to ignorant loquacity.” – Marcus Tullius Cicero
  5. “Kindly remove yourself from my personal space. Thanks.” – Gemma Correll
  6. “What a lovely surprise to finally discover how unlonely being alone can be.” – Ellen Burstyn
  7. “Blessed are those who don’t seek out unnecessary conversation.” – Lost Bible Verse
  8. “My best acquaintances are those with whom I spoke no word.” – Emily Dickinson
  9. “It is a joy to be hidden, and disaster not to be found.” – D.W. Winnicott
  10. “People inspire you, or they drain you – pick them wisely.” – Hans F. Hansen
  11. “Sometimes I just shut down and don’t talk to anyone for days. It’s nothing personal.” – Sonya Teclai
  12. “A wise man once said nothing.” – Proverb
  13. “I don’t want to be alone. I want to be left alone.” – Audrey Hepburn
  14. “People empty me. I have to get away to refill.” – C. Bukowski

Final thoughts

How will you use these quotes about introverts? Now that you’ve looked through the introvert sayings above, what are some ways to include them in your every day? 

Write a favorite weekly quote on a whiteboard you’ll see every day.  Have a mug created with a favorite quote.  Design an “introvert scarf” with favorite quotes written on soft fabric.  Use an app to remind yourself of your favorite quotes throughout the day. 

Better yet, use more than one to make sure you see at least one introvert quote every day, whether first thing in the morning or while you’re working.  Celebrate your beautiful self, along with all the introverts you know.

89 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 4289 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 1589 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 889 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 9789 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 9189 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 8289 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 4989 Introvert Quotes That Fit Your Personality Type - 71